Yolo election results: So far, Davis schools tax is winning by a few dozen votes

By Bill Buchanan for Davis Media Access

Posted 10 a.m. Wednesday, March 6

Measure N, the latest school parcel tax to go before Davis school district voters, is winning — but not by much.

The results won’t be final until the Yolo Elections Office counts all ballots, including ones that voters mailed on or before March 5 but don’t arrive for a few days after. The office explains the process in “Why it can take time to certify an election.”

As of this morning (March 6), the measure to impose a $768 tax per parcel of property in the Davis Joint Unified School District has received 7,194 yes votes, or 66.91 percent of the total counted so far, against 3,557 no votes, or 33.09 percent.

The measure needs two-thirds approval to pass, and has cleared that hurdle by less than one-third of 1 percent so far. For now, that margin of victory works out to about three dozen votes.

In other words, the outcome is too close to call as of March 6. Measure N supporters quoted in a story today by Monica Stark of the Davis Enterprise were hopeful. A story by David Greenwald in the Davis Vanguard called it a nailbiter.

Other Yolo results

Other Yolo results have yielded clear winners where the leads are big enough to be unlikely to vanish as final votes are counted. Voters have:

  • Elected Sheila Allen county supervisor for the 4th district, which includes much of Davis.
  • Elected Mary Sandy, Angel Barajas and Oscar Villegas as the county’s 3rd, 5th and 1st district supervisors
  • Elected Clara Levers as Superior Court judge.
  • Recalled Woodland Joint Union School District board member Emily MacDonald from office.
  • Rejected Woodland Measure M, which would have allowed the city to accept and use state and federal funding for the Lower Cache Flood Risk Management Project.

Bogue and Cabaldon, plus top 3 presidential votes in Yolo

Other results that might interest Yolo voters:

Voters in the California State Senate 3rd District, which includes much of Yolo County, have chosen Republican Thom Bogue and Democrat Christopher Cabaldon as the two finalists for the seat. Voters will choose one of the two in the November 2024 election. Bill Dodd, the district’s incumbent senator, is retiring.

In the presidential primary election, the top three vote tallies in Yolo County went to:

  • President Joe Biden, 13,698 votes
  • Former President Donald Trump, 4,893
  • GOP candidate Nikki Haley, 1,541

The Elections Office will update results following this schedule and report the certified final results on or by April 4.

For complete and updated results as March progresses, see the Yolo Elections Office website.